Jump navigation

  1. Jump to full-text search
  2. Jump to contents
  3. Jump to main navigation
  4. Jump to service navigation
Page: https://www.hochschule-ruhr-west.de//about-hrw/leadership/governing-bodies/
Date: 04.12.2021, 07:23Clock

Governing Board

Ruhr West University of Applied Sciences in Mülheim an der Ruhr and Bottrop is a corporation under public law and a state institution. The university’s chief executive officer is the President. In addition, the Executive Board includes the Head of Administration and Services and the Vice Presidents for Teaching and for Research and Transfer.

Ruhr West is structured into four faculties. In addition, a number of centralised institutions are there to perform cross-faculty tasks and services in the areas of teaching, research and transfer as well as marketing.

The university is autonomous in its self-governance. The relevant decision-making bodies (see below) are made up of elected individuals representing the groups of university teachers, students, and academic and non-academic staff. These representatives have voting rights and are chosen in a free, equal and secret ballot.

Non-Executive Board (Hochschulrat)

The Non-Executive Board consists of six appointed members who work outside the university and serve a five-year term. The board advises the Executive Board and supervises its management activities. It is entitled to see and review all university documents. The Non-Executive Board meets four times per year. Its responsibilities include electing the members of the Executive Board, approving the university development plan and budget, commenting on the Executive Board’s annual report and discharging the Executive Board from liability.


The Senate is a key decision-making body in the self-governance structure at Ruhr West. It consists of elected individuals representing the groups of university teachers, academic staff, non-academic staff and students. All of these are entitled to vote. In addition, the Senate includes the members of the Executive Board, the Equal Opportunity Commissioner, the deans of the faculties, the chairpersons of the two staff councils and the head of the student union (AStA) as non-voting members. The elected members serve a two-year term (students: one year). The Senate is involved in choosing the members of the Non-Executive Board and, together with that body, elects the members of the Executive Board. It passes and amends university policies and regulations. It issues recommendations and comments on the draft university development plan and budget, the university contract and other official documents. 

Quality Improvement Commission

The main responsibility of the Quality Improvement Commission is to safeguard the proper use of the funds provided by the North Rhine-Westphalian State Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research to improve the quality of teaching and research at Ruhr West. The commission can make recommendations on how to use these funds. The elected members of the commission serve a two-year term, with the exception of student members, who serve a one-year term. The Quality Improvement Commission was first elected in July 2012.

Equal Opportunity Commission

The Equal Opportunity Commission has eight members (two from each group: students, academic staff, non-academic staff and professors). Student members serve a one-year term; all other members serve a two-year term.

Student Government Institutions

Student government institutions at Ruhr West include the student parliament (StuPa), the student union (AStA) and faculty-based student councils (Fachschaften). The StuPa, consisting of 11 elected representatives, is the highest body of student self-governance. Elections are held once a year, and all students are entitled to vote. The AStA is the executive branch of student government; its actions are monitored by the StuPa.

Staff Council

At Ruhr West, there is on staff council for academic staff and one for non-academic staff. Council members serve a four-year term.